Issaquah DUI Attorney

Issaquah DUI Attorneys

Being charged with driving under the influence of alcohol may easily happen to anyone. Numerous clients of our law firm are first time offenders and they never been through the whole justice system process in the past. It is very important to understand that even if you have alcohol in the system, the conviction does not necessarily follow the arrest. Our Issaquah DUI attorney will be absolutely invaluable for your DUI case and its outcome.

In this article we are going to answer the most basic questions. Nevertheless, it is still very important, crucial even, to meet with a qualified as well as experienced DUI attorney in order to talk about the specifics of namely your DUI case.

Yet, now we are going to provide you with answers for the questions that most clients are commonly asking their Issaquah DUI lawyers:

  • What is going to happen after the DUI arrest in Issaquah?
  • In case I will be convicted, what kind of penalties am I going to face?
  • Am I going to lose my license?
  • How long will it be before my DUI case will be dealt with?

Right after the arrest, the officer that arrested you is going to submit his or her report to the office of the prosecuting attorney. Then, the lawyer is going to go through the report as well as all the available evidence and will make a decision – whether or not there are reasons to charge you to begin with.

DUI Criminal Defense in Issaquah, WA

When it comes to Issaquah DUI, the process will take up to six weeks after you were arrested. Nevertheless, the statute of limitations for driving under the influence in the state of Washington is two years. This implies that the prosecuting attorney will have 2 years to charge you. Nevertheless, the more time has passed from the arrest day, the bigger are your chances of avoiding the charges altogether.

While you still have time, it is very important, crucial even, to get in touch with a qualified as well as genuinely experience Issaquah DUI lawyer. Although criminal charges may not have been filed yet, you have only twenty days in order to initiate a DOL hearing, where you will be able to contest the suspension of your driving privileges.

When it comes to DUI in the state of Washington, the legal penalties are quite severe. These largely depend on how many prior DUIs you had and on your BAC levels as well.

For instance, these are legal penalties for the first time DUI conviction with a BAC that is lower than 0.15:

  • At least 1 day in jail and a year in jail as the biggest sentence.
  • At least $940.50 in fines and a maximum of $5000 in fines. This not including the court fees.
  • Suspension of driving privileges for 90 days.
  • Probation period of 5 years.
  • Examination for alcohol or drug abuse as well as compliance with the treatment that may have been recommended.
  • Obligatory installation of the ignition interlock device.
  • Expensive SR-22 for high risk drivers.

Sure enough, the penalties will get only worse if your BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) equals or surpasses the 0.15 legal threshold or if you had previous DUI convictions within 7 past years.

You Have To Act Immediately

Right after you were arrested on the drunk driving charges, the clock will start ticking. You only have 20 days from the time of the arrest to initiate the DOL hearing, where you will be able to contest the suspension of your driving privileges.

While at the hearing, the officer is going to take into consideration the following problems:

  • Was it a lawful arrest?
  • Did the law enforcement officer have reasons to believe that you were driving under the influence of alcohol or any illegal substances?
  • Was the driver advised of his or her rights properly?
  • Did the BAC test indicate .08 or more?

You are going to appear in court for the first time during the arraignment. While at the arraignment, the prosecutor or the judge are going to read your charges and will explain the maximal legal penalties. The judge is also going to present you with your rights, including the right for a lawyer – an attorney of your choosing, to have witnesses testify for you, question and hear the witnesses that will testify against you and so on.

The court will schedule the next hearing after the arraignment – this one is known as the pretrial hearing. During this pretrial procedure, your attorney is going to collect of all the evidence that the prosecution has against you, attempt to negotiate a plea deal and prepare for the upcoming trial.

Seeing how every single case is different in its own way, it is pretty much impossible to predict the success rates of a DUI case. Nevertheless, in case you will have a qualified as well as genuinely experienced Issaquah DUI lawyer on your side, there is a bigger chance that you will get a reduced sentence or your case will be dismissed.

If you were arrested and charged with DUI in Issaquah, please call Kleyner Law Offices at (855) 858-0853 or fill out online contact form.

Pavel Kleyner, ESQ